Remember

A weekly challenge response

Chimes. Gentle chimes roll in waves from the edges of a world confined to blackness. Lilting and harmonious, the music drifts through the bars surrounding me, covering me and comforting me and lifting my face upwards like it did before in a half-remembered dream.

Coloured birds are flying brightly in the dark above, moving in graceful circles. Round and round they soar, silent and beautiful in their simple outlines.

And though their path is marked and unchanging, predestined and cyclical, their flight is one of possibility and potential. Because every night, no matter how high I stretch my arms, they dance beyond my reach.

They are infinite.

The other day I read that all memories of a time before the age of five are constructed. Fiction. Perhaps my parents told me about the musical mobile, or I remember it hanging above the cot of one of my younger siblings. Perhaps it was a dream. All I know is this: when I hear that lullaby, I can see soft shapes gliding above me. I can feel a burgeoning sense of wonder that whispers of things half-understood, hazy and hopeful. And I know that somewhere deep down, real or imagined, that child filled with awe is still reaching up towards something she’ll never fully comprehend.

26 thoughts on “Remember

  1. vozey says:

    Your alluring alliterations lift my soul to soft sensations.

    Very musical. Thank you.

  2. awax1217 says:

    I wish I could remember the niceties you describe. But that was over sixty years ago. I remember the children when they were babies because my grandchildren remind them so much of them.

  3. lewis cave says:

    Great piece! Congrats on getting freshly pressed!

  4. segmation says:

    I thought my daughter was the only one that had that white wooden horse!

  5. marydpierce says:

    A lovely piece of writing. And for the record, I remember several things from when I was three. They are real memories, not fiction. I see the apartment we lived in at the time, though there are no photos of it.

    • raggykate says:

      Thank you! I like to think early memories are rooted in reality, but I’m not sure that it matters; the impact they have on you as a person is very real either way πŸ™‚

  6. Sarah Harris says:

    No, I totally believe we have memories from way back then. I have a really vivid memory of being put on the kitchen counter while my mom prepared some sort of home remedy medicine to help me out and I remember sitting on the cold tile, the taste of the concoction – and it doesn’t stand out to her as anything significant. She doesn’t remember. Great story!

  7. jdomp says:

    The attachment to your memories is indicative of how much security you still need. Try letting go of it. Its gone.

    • raggykate says:

      The physical experience is gone, but not the memory – and what are we without memories of the past? The present is fleeting and constantly “gone”, so ultimately we are defined by what we record, describe and remember. This particular memory is not something I cling on to but something I cherish as a beautiful moment in my childhood πŸ™‚

  8. makais says:

    oh yeah i remember

  9. sweet. congratulations on being freshly pressed.

  10. katmaxwell says:

    Beautiful. Love the way you string words together…kinda haunting in a way

Leave a Reply

